100 Word Story- 27th November 2015

  • 27th Nov, 2015 at 9:36am

We are about to begin a new Church Year, and we have been busy making our Advent Wreaths. What is the symbolism of each part of our wreath?



  • Charlotte
    4th Jan, 2016 at 3:14pmm

    The Advent Wreath has four candles that we light every week in the four weeks of Advent.
    The first candle lit (purple) symbolizes hope and that Jesus is coming.
    The second candle (purple) symbolizes faith and Mary and Joseph’s Bethlehem Journey.
    The third candle (rose) symbolizes joy. This candle is called the Shepherds Candle reminding us of the joy at Jesus’ birth.
    The fourth candle (purple) symbolizes peace and is The Angel Candle reminding us about the message of the Angels.
    The Ever Green foliage symbolizes everlasting love. There is sometimes a fifth candle called the Christ Candle lit on Christmas day.

  • Freddie
    6th Dec, 2015 at 4:37pmm

    The wreath is in a circle and has evergreen because God’s love is everlasting. The wreath has five candles each representing differet things. The first two candles are purple which represent the preperation for Jesus. then there is one pink candle which represents joy. Next there is another purple candle lit not much before the final one.The fourth candle represents that God sent Jesus to Earth because he loves us. Finally the white candle is lit on Christmas day, it represents the coming of Jesus.

  • Ryan 1
    29th Nov, 2015 at 8:12pmm

    The Advent Wreath is circular and evergreen because Gods love is everlasting. It also represents eternal life. The 4 candles, 3 purple and 1 pink, represent the 4 Sundays of Advent. Purple candles are lit on the first 2 Sundays representing Hope and Faith. On the 3rd Sunday the pink candle is lit representing Joy. On the 4th Sunday the 3rd purple candle is lit representing Peace. Some Christians have a 5th candle which is white and represents Purity. This candle is normally lit on Christmas Eve or Christmas day. Some Christians also add holly leaves and berries to represent Jesus’s crown of thorns and his blood.

  • Matthew
    29th Nov, 2015 at 8:03pmm

    The Advent wreath is known widley as the symbol of Advent. The Advent wreath’s candles represent each Sunday of Advent and the the pink one is the last Sunday of Advent. The middle candle is lit on Christmas day and it represents Christ the lord. It is a circle because it represents God’s eternal and everlasting love and life. The Advent wreath is covered in evergreen leaves that are laid flat. The candles are called the candle of hope, of peace, of love and of joy.

  • Harry1
    29th Nov, 2015 at 4:25pmm

    The Christmas wreath is very important! The wreath symbolises God’s everlasting love, the purple candles symbolises us waiting for God arrival. The pink candle represents us preparing for Jesus. Finally, the White candle symbolises Christmas Day.

  • Sara
    28th Nov, 2015 at 4:31pmm

    Candle 1: The candle of hope. This is the first, purple, candle and symbolizes our hope in God keeping his promises.
    Candle 2: The candle of preparation. This is the second, still purple, candle and symbolizes us preparing for the birth of Jesus.
    Candle 3: The candle of joy. This is the third, pink, candle and symbolizes that the angels sang for joy to the shepherds.
    Candle 4: The candle of love. This is the fourth, purple, candle and symbolizes that God sent Jesus to earth because he loves us.
    Candle 5: The Christ candle. Lit on Christmas Day. It is white and symbolizes the coming of Jesus.
    Evergreen: This symbolizes God’s eternal love.
    The circle: This also symbolizes God’s eternal love.

  • Amber
    27th Nov, 2015 at 7:42pmm

    The Advent Wreath symbolises Christs Light. Each part of the wreath has it’s own symbolic meaning, starting with the shape. The circle represents eternity to remind us that God is eternal and his love is eternal. The evergreens used to make the circle also represent eternal life. Ivy is used to represent the crown of thorns Jesus wore when he was crucified. The next part of the wreath are the three purple candles which are lit starting with the first Sunday of Advent and then on each of the Sunday’s of Advent. On the fourth Sunday of Advent a pink candle is lit. The three purple candles represent a time of prayer, repentance and the goodness of the Lord. The pink or rose coloured candle represents joy and hope. On Christmas Day the final candle is lit . It is a white candle that reminds us that Jesus is the light of the world.

Send a Comment

Your email address and last name will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Only PDF's & images (PNG/JPG/GIF) can be uploaded
Comments will not appear until they have been moderated.